Meet Erik Plate, Trombone

An only child, Erik spent his early childhood moving around with his parents, who were in the oil industry. Although he considers Bangkok, Thailand to be the most interesting place he's lived, his family eventually settled in Sugar Land Texas, where he went to middle school and high school, and still considers home.

Erik became a trombone player by way of the saxophone. Both sides of his family are musical, and since his dad played the alto sax, that was his first choice.

"On tryout day, I tried as hard as I could to get a note out of the sax but could only manage a squeak," laughed Erik. "The band director frowned and handed me a trombone and I had better success. Little did I know at the time, it was the right choice. I've been a 'bonehead' ever since!"

Erik came to Colorado because he heard that the University of Colorado marching band was great, and to earn his degree in mechanical engineering.

He now lives in Westminster with his wife Mandy. They spend most of their time with Bear, their 10-month-old Bernese Mountain dog who also "doubles as an 80-pound sock-seeking missile and can playfully put you in the ER!" As often as possible, the family heads to the mountains to ski or hike.

Erik also spends time serving on the Boulder Concert Band Board of Directors.

How long have you been in the Boulder Concert Band?
This will be my third year.

Does your Trombone have a name?
No, it does not have a name. I'll have to "slide" to the next question.

What is the most recent concert you've attended?
Journey at Frontier Days.

What is the most recent book you've read?
Windhaven by George R.R. Martin and Lisa Tuttle. Game of Thrones is my favorite series and I hope Martin gets a chance to finish it!

What is your favorite meal?
Meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and green beans. My wife calls it the "Family Guy" dinner because that's what it looks like! I also enjoy Thai food and sushi after living in Bangkok for a couple years.

What is your favorite movie?
Star Trek was a great reload for the series.

What is/was your occupation?
I am an application engineer. I manage the west coast inside sales territory for a water control gate manufacturer.

Erik in deep concentration during the Boulder Concert Band holiday concert.